Skip to main content

Manage Cluster

This guide describes the lifecycle of a cluster so that you can make full use of your Zilliz Cloud console to achieve your goals.

You can perform the following operations on a Dedicated cluster.

Rename

1

Navigate to the Cluster Details page of your target cluster.

2

Click on Actions and then select Rename.

XR4QbJtm1o1My7xPp5ecuwnonAf

3

Enter the new name of the cluster and click on Save.

KmiAbYLuRonF7jxvYfsczx2cns8

Edit description

1

Navigate to the Cluster Details page of your target cluster.

2

Hover on the cluster description and click on the Edit description icon.

VVDNbEWIcoEiWrxUtYbcfy5snRg

3

Enter the new description of the cluster and click on Save.

ZfXqb3NGOoEm1gxmJGkcAxU2nke

Suspend

For a running Dedicated cluster, you are billed for both CU and storage. To reduce costs, consider suspending the cluster. Only storage charges apply when a Dedicated cluster is suspended.

Please note that during suspension, you cannot perform other actions on the cluster.

You can suspend a cluster via the web console or programmatically.

Navigate to the Cluster Details page of your target cluster and then follow the instructions below to suspend your Dedicated cluster.

Once the suspend operation is successful, a job record will be generated. You can check the progress on the Jobs page.

Resume

Suspended Dedicated clusters can be resumed manually when needed.

Please note that during resuming, you cannot perform other actions on the cluster.

You can resume a cluster via the web console or programmatically.

Navigate to the Cluster Details page of your target cluster and then follow the instruction below to resume your cluster.

Once the resume operation is successful, a job record will be generated. You can check the progress on the Jobs page.

Upgrade cluster for preview features

To try the latest preview features, you need to upgrade the compatible Milvus version of your dedicated cluster.

upgrade-to-preview-version

Convert to a global cluster

If you need to convert an existing cluster to a global cluster, follow the steps below.

📘Note

Global clusters are compatible only with Milvus 2.6.x. You cannot convert a regular cluster that is compatible with Milvus 3.0.x to a global cluster.

Drop

When a cluster is no longer needed, you can drop it. You can drop a cluster via the web console or programatically.

Navigate to the Cluster Details page of your target cluster and then follow the instruction below to drop your cluster.

Ctrl I